Get started with Shared Drives
Shared Drives are shared spaces for teams to store their files in Google Drive and guarantee that every member has the most up-to-date information, no matter the time or place.
Shared Drives have simple, understandable sharing rules. You can find content more easily, collaborate and share more confidently, and keep your team files safe. Users working with sensitive information in Google Drive and Shared Drive should enable Google's 2-step verification on their UIndy Google account.
Benefits of Shared Drives
- Designed to centralize your organization's files.
- Eliminates the issues with individual owners! It’s designed to store the team's work collectively, so if a document’s creator moves off the team or leaves UIndy, that document doesn't go with them.
- Membership is managed by the Shared Drive's Manager.
- Team members are prevented from accidentally removing or deleting files that others need based on the permissions given to them by the Shared Drive Managers. Entire Shared Drives cannot be deleted by anyone unless it is empty.
For additional information navigate to the Google Workspace Learning Center.