Losing access to your UIndy account

A UIndy Account is a centralized electronic account assigned to a person allowing access to University systems and applications including but not limited to Google Workspace (Gmail, Calendar & Drive), Office 365, Banner, Brightspace, My UIndy, library resources, computers, and the UIndy network. The following sections provide details on each account type. See Account Termination Policy for full details.

Students

UIndy students have access to their accounts while they are actively enrolled in classes. After the last date of enrollment, access to the following services is removed:

  • After 4 months: My UIndy, Brightspace, Library, Computer Labs
  • After 1 year: Google Workspace (e.g. Gmail, Calendar, Drive) and Office 365

Students should make arrangements to copy or forward any email, contacts, or documents from their accounts before account access is terminated. Student accounts will only be reactivated upon re-enrollment. 

Google Takeout can help you archive your data before your account access has been removed.

Staff

Access to staff accounts will terminate on the last day worked as determined by your supervisor.

To reduce the risk of malicious or unintentional data loss, Google Takeout is not available to UIndy Employees. The IT Help Desk will not assist with moving data to any personal devices or accounts. Please remember to keep personal data separate from work data.  

Faculty

Provided the faculty member completes the semester, account access will terminate fourteen days after final grades are due  in order to allow for grade submissions, student grade disputes, etc. If the faculty member leaves UIndy before the semester ends, access will terminate on the last day worked as determined by the supervisor.

To reduce the risk of malicious or unintentional data loss, Google Takeout is not available to UIndy Employees. The IT Help Desk will not assist with moving data to any personal devices or accounts. Please remember to keep personal data separate from work data.  

Emeriti

Faculty and staff granted Emeriti status by the UIndy Board of Trustees will retain access to their Google Workspace (e.g. Gmail, Calendar, Drive) account for life. Access to the rest of their UIndy account will terminate according to the guidelines above.